Hola amigos

Tell us what you think about your visit to our site!

Moderators: MichelleH, Minimalist, JPeters

War Arrow

Hola amigos

Post by War Arrow »

I've been lurking around on this site for a few months and I've only just noticed this introduction thing. What can I say? I'm new to the internet and the weird and wonderful concept of sharing notes with people on the other side of the world.
I've already received a friendly welcome from a few of you so this might be a bit redundant, but anyway...
My principal interest (although obsession is closer) is pre-Hispanic Nahuatl culture of Mexico (Mexica, Acolhua, Tecpanec etc) which diffuses into anything that may have any bearing on the same. I've been attempting to compile a pedantically encyclopedic book on the belief system(s) of the time for the last decade or so. I've been sidetracked into writing a couple of novels (set in pre-Hispanic Mexico) but it's still all very much on course. My ambition is to set the world alight with my (theoretically original) ideas regarding curiosities like er... why a Goddess of childbirth (Chiconahui Izcuintli Chantico) should belong to the Xiuhtecuhtli complex of fire Gods. Okay. Probably not light reading but a guy at the British Museum seemed to think I had something. I'm neither professional archaeologist nor anthropologist, although I do read a lot and have a well-developed sense of my own importance.
I live in London, although I try to visit Mexico City on a yearly basis.
And just for the record...
I don't believe in UFOs. I used to though, when I was a gullible teenager. I'm not proud but at least I know my enemy.
I don't trust creationists, and nor am I a Christian, although I would argue that, within context, Huitzilopochtli, Quetzalcoatl (and the others) are culturally valid models of Deities in all senses that matter.
I have not, as yet, conducted human sacrifices.
I dislike smilies. You should be able to tell when I'm joking. Hopefully.