Roman Roads

Random older topics of discussion

Moderators: MichelleH, Minimalist, JPeters

Digit

Roman Roads

Post by Digit »

In between tree felling and resting, (these cancer treatments tire you out) I've been watching a programme about how the Romans laid out and constructed roads, viaducts etc using bob weights to establish a base line.
As an engineer I fully understand the principles, but, how do you aim a road at a fort, township, river crossing etc that is beyond the horizon and you can't see?
First people deny a thing, then they belittle it, then they say it was known all along! Von Humboldt
Minimalist
Forum Moderator

Post by Minimalist »

http://www.highwayengineers.org/scanner_summer03j.html
Although Roman surveyors were extremely skilled and could lay out accurate curves, Roman roadways typically are linear. This was due to the use of sighting techniques, which naturally resulted in very long tangents. This is most noticeable in the fact that Roman roads make most of their key turns and deflections on high ground where sighting was most easily facilitated. Road segments would often be laid out with series of hundreds of sighting points and beacons.
Something is wrong here. War, disease, death, destruction, hunger, filth, poverty, torture, crime, corruption, and the Ice Capades. Something is definitely wrong. This is not good work. If this is the best God can do, I am not impressed.

-- George Carlin
Digit

Post by Digit »

[/quote]http://www.romans-in-britain.org.uk/map ... .htm[quote]
If you take a look at this map Min you can see that some of the roads are arrow straight, others less so. In some cases terrain made a straight road impossible of course, but some of the curves seem to be as a result of their aiming 'off' and a correction being necessary.
With enough trial and error a dead straight course is acheivable, but I have a gut feeling that the Romans were better than that.